View Poll Results: Which code do you prefer?

Voters
47. You may not vote on this poll
  • 3-letter code

22 46.81%
  • 4-letter code

13 27.66%
  • I don't care.

12 25.53%

Thread: 3-letter code / 4-letter code

Hybrid View

TIM
    LII-IEI
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default 3-letter code / 4-letter code

I think it is very confusing for every beginner that there are these two different systems. Some people prefer the 3-letter code, others the 4-letter code, others are indifferent and use both.

In threads on this forum most people seem to answer using the system the thread opener uses. If the title of a thread is "LII or ILI" most people also talk about "LII" and "ILI". But some people don't like the 3-letter code and talk about "INTj" and "INTp" in the same thread. When I started studying socionics I found that very confusing.

At the very beginning I worked with a table: "What the heck is ESI? Let's look it up... Ah, it's ISFj!" Then I thought: "I can't work with this stupid table for all my life." So I started reading the 3-letter code backwards to translate it into the familiar 4-letter code:
    1.) ESI backwards = ISE
    2.) E=F so ISE=ISF
    3.) E or L at the beginning -> last letter = j
    ---> ESI = ISFj
    Of course it is not difficult but it is a pain in the arse...

People who have studied socionics for several months have no problems with translating 3-letter code into 4-letter code: SEI - ISFp, ILI - INTp, LSE - ESTj. I just know because I have several examples of every type in mind.

Nevertheless, for beginners it is confusing. Why can't we come to an agreement? It would make it much easier for beginners to study socionics if only one system was used on this forum.

Benefits of the 3-letter code:
    - Rick DeLong likes it because it makes it more difficult to work with Jungian dichotomies
    - Rick DeLong likes it because it makes it more difficult to work with Reinin dichotomies