Thread: Personality Typing and Career

Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Personality Typing and Career

I think the best career system is Holland's Code.

If you haven't seen it, a sample test is here: https://www.truity.com/test/holland-code-career-test.

I think this gives a nice, clean distribution of career based on one's personality.

The problem: while the test is very good, it considers only one's interest but not one's aptitude.

Case in point: because I enjoy going to art galleries and looking at architecture, if I get a question about whether I would enjoy being an artist or architect, I then put a check mark as an answer.

The problem: while I have an interest in the arts, I am not skilled at painting, drawing, etc.

Case in point: while I have a deep interest in the sciences, I often get careers like physics PhD or astronomer that are interesting but beyond my skill level.

The solution: I think these tests should have an aptitude section included alongside; if you simply measure one's interest but not one's skill, then people are being misled.

Corollaries:

1) tests that only measure aptitude are even more misguided to me, because interest is the absolute key to career; in my case, while I am an excellent writer, I have no interest in the subject.

2) tests like the MBTI that are not based on interest or aptitude are simply bunk.

What do you think?

TIM
    SEI
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)