Thread: What I don't Like About Socionics

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default What I don't Like About Socionics

Last edited by jason_m; 04-03-2021 at 03:17 PM.

I'm not hungry mommy bear BrainlessSquid's Avatar
    TIM
    IEE-Fi
    Mentioned
    59 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by jason_m View Post
    Here's what I don't like: assume socionics gives out 'degrees.' If they are given out, they are not given out based on skill or merit, but purely based on temperament. Assume I am 'EII' because I am a sensitive, melancholic person: the theory 'gives me' a bachelor of arts in English or psychology and a minor or certificate in business. I then have an 'advisor' (i.e., dual) who is there to teach me how to succeed as a businessman. The problem is that all of those things are not what I want to pursue - I respect the arts, I love the sciences, and I couldn't give a hoot about business. Given that I have my Bsc in Computer Science with a math minor, I am skilled as a scientist, but if I am EII, the theory rewards me as an arts major - something that I have respect for but don't want to pursue.

Now look at the opposite: 'SLE.' Apparently - for reasons I don't understand - that type is skilled as a 'scientist' or 'engineer' because they have 'Ti.' You tell me that that type is described any differently from a truck driver or bricklayer and that they therefore have any abstract reasoning skills at all... If we are exact opposites, maybe neither of us are logically skilled, but perhaps that is not true. Perhaps I am the one with logical skill and they are not. Even with the 'LSIs,' I wouldn't be surprised if that is often someone simply in the skilled trades or hands-on jobs.

Even the MBTI: what type of *temperament* you have can make the difference between being a bus driver and being an accountant or CEO.