Thread: Is he describing Ni?

TIM
    IEI, E4
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default Is he describing Ni?

There was an artist I was watching online and an interviewer asked him what was his thought process when making music. What he described sounded like what I go through when I use Ni but I am unsure because I am not a musician. Maybe his thought process is just a musician thing or maybe it is Ni? Can you help me. Also if there are musicians on here can you tell me if you experience this as well.
    Video:
    It's the first 30 seconds so you don't have to watch the whole video, it's irrelevant.

Perpetual Confusion Machine PistolShrimp's Avatar
    TIM
    IEI-Ni 4w5 sp/sx
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Sounds like synesthesia and imagination. Don't think it's function-related but I'm not sure.

TIM
    SEER ~ 458 sx/sp
    Mentioned
    732 Post(s)
    Tagged
    40 Thread(s)

He says when he closes his eyes he sees color. I also see vivid visuals, colors and fractals when I listen to music with my eyes closed but I also see them when there is no music so I don't know. I just assumed this was the case for everyone until I started talking about it and people didn't see them too. I create vivid paintings in my mind as well of people, creatures and places I have never been. These are the types of visuals I will get with my eyes closed but certain medications, like anti-depressants, pain killers or sleeping pills will turn it off.

I have a cross between lexical-gustatory and auditory-tactile synesthesia. It's mild or at least I think it's mild since I really have nothing to compare it to and I rarely talk about it. It just has always been. I do not associate particular colors with sounds or letters like others report though. I really can't say if any of this is Ni related.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ideasthesia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synesthesia