Thread: Richard Linklater

1 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

Default Richard Linklater

Director of Dazed and Confused, Waking Life, Before Sunrise, School of Rock, etc.

"I always sensed instinctively from the earliest age that I was being lied to."

"It's kinda like D.H. Lawrence had this idea of two people meeting on a road, and instead of just passing and glancing away, they decide to accept what he calls the confrontation between their souls. It's like freeing the brave, reckless gods within us all."

"[on "Raging Bull"] It made me see movies as a potential outlet for what I was thinking about and hoping to express. At that point, I was an unformed artist. At that moment, something was simmering in me, but "Raging Bull" brought it to a boil."

"We get a lot of cautionary tales about the dangers of getting exactly what you want in life. You know, if you take out the striving and the incompleteness, then where are you?"

"I've always been most interested in the politics of everyday life: your relation to whatever you're doing, or what your ambitions are, where you live, where you find yourself in the social hierarchy."

"Well, you have to keep your faith in the fact that there are a lot of intelligent people who are actively looking for something interesting, people who have been disappointed so many times."

"I lost a year or two in there, trying to get films financed that I didn't know would never get financing."

"You can never replace anyone because everyone is made up of such beautiful specific details."

"[Terrence Malick] is a guy who sees his movies and thinks, "I would have done that differently". I see mine and say, "Given the circumstances, that's what I did and that's what I'd do again". I don't know how much of a free-will guy I am."