Hybrid View

TIM
    LII-Ne
    Mentioned
    103 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Default Not feeling your own significance

Throughout my life I've often felt like I've been without much obvious significance. Like I'm just kind of there, filling in space and if I'm gone no one will notice much anyway. I've never been the type to really put myself out there on things. Instead I've tended to wait for other people to take notice as to what I can do well much to my own detriment.

Some examples on how its played out in my life:

When I took a break from this forum for a few months, I don't think too many people noticed my absence. The forum was basically the same without me. If I were to leave the forum now and never come back, I expect it to be similar.

When I graduated from high school, when I went up to the podium to get
    my diploma, there was hardly any applause from the audience as if hardly anyone knew who I was. I think the only people clapping and cheering were my family. On the other hand, the more popular students got tons of applause. For some reason this incident still bothers me today. In high school, I wasn't good in sports, music, art, or theatre. So that eliminated most extracurricular activities except the nerdy ones like Spanish club and quiz bowl. I did really well academically but that was about it. I wasn't good looking, I wasn't popular, I never went to prom, heck I never went to a single school dance. I never got asked out for a date once. Of course I never asked anyone out either.